Syndicat National des Producteurs d'Alcool Agricole

E10, No.1 petrol grade in France

For the « Collective du bioéthanol », SP95-E10 must speed up its development especially with the replacement of SP95 by more petrol stations because SP95-E10 is the best petrol fuel for 97% of the motorists. The latter need better information regarding the compatibility of their cars with E10 by petrol stations, by automotive professionals and thanks to new E10 labels on fuel tanks flaps of these vehicles.

 

France leading Europe in SP95-E10 use 

France pioneered the use of SP95-E10 in Europe, in 2009. Since then, Germany, Finland and Belgium have also introduced it into their domestic markets. Several other European countries like UK and Netherlands are gearing up to follow suit.

 

SP95-E10: More eco-friendly thus more economic

SP95-E10 contains up to 10% ethanol derived from plant matter. Its environmental benefits are such that French authorities have been prompted to promote its use with appropriate tax breaks. At the same petrol station, it is priced approximately 4 to 5 cents* cheaper than SP95 and costs even less compared to SP98. Thierry Forien, Vice-President at Siplec, pointed out that “the E. Leclerc service station network sells SP95-E10 in 80% of its sales outlets. We pioneered the development of ethanol incorporated into all types of petrol. SP95-E10 is the cheapest petrol available and we are delighted to be able to sell this fuel about 5 cents/litre cheaper than the classic SP95”.

SP95-E10 is compatible with 97% of petrol driven cars on French roads today (list available on E10.fr). For Pierre Chasseray, Delegate General of the NGO 40 Millions d’Automobilistes, “SP95-E10 offers the best value for money for 97% of motorists driving a compatible petrol vehicle. It is environmentally cleaner and above all, helps motorists save money every time they fill up, without this hampering vehicle performance”.

Virginie de Chassey, Director for Public Affairs for PSA reiterates that “all Peugeot, Citroën and DS petrol-powered vehicles registered since 2000 are compatible with SP95-E10”.

SP95-E10 is now available in over 5,600 service stations, i.e. more than one in two. Alex Truchetto, Director of SCA Pétrole et Dérivés explained that “SP95-E10 is being introduced throughout the Intermarché service station network where it is gradually replacing SP95”.

Alongside this development, awareness-raising initiatives are targeting motorists, as pledged by the 30 signatories of the E10 Charter (professionals in the automotive and fuel sectors and representatives for motorists and for ethanol value chain, and public authorities). Francis Pousse, President of the service station branch of the CNPA (French Council for Automotive Professionals) reiterated that “by signing the E10 charter, the CNPA has committed to informing motorists as to the compatibility of vehicles with SP95-E10, via its members (car showrooms, garages, traditional service stations, vehicle testing stations, etc.)”.

Ethanol used in France is mainly derived from French cereals and beet which yield both food and energy, in compliance with European sustainability criteria. The SP95-E10 bioethanol content helps reduce CO2 emissions by over 50% compared to petrol. For Eric Lainé, President of CGB (French Beet Growers Confederation), “Bioethanol is a great asset for sustainable, diversified agriculture in France and helps cut GHG emissions in the transport sector”.

 

SP95-E10 has thus achieved lasting benchmark status as the petrol used by French drivers.

SP95-E10’s success comes as a great reward for this dynamic industry, as does the swift development of Superethanol-E85. This fuel is even more economical and eco-friendly since it contains 65% to 85% bioethanol. It can be used in Flex Fuel vehicles and those fitted with a conversion kit. A procedure to approve these is to be published in the end of 2017 in a decree issued by the French Ministry for Environment and Energy.

The French bioethanol industry is the leader in Europe, helping to drive the bio-economy, which holds out great potential for jobs in agriculture, industry, research and services. Bruno Hot, President of the SNPAA (French Syndicate of Manufacturers of Agricultural Alcohol) declared that: “We are counting on our new government to continue to promote the benefits of bioethanol, including in future EU-wide debates on the various sources of energy to be used beyond 2020”.

Syndicat National des Producteurs d'Alcool Agricole

Le SP95-E10, essence la plus consommée en France

Pour la Collective du bioéthanol, le SP95-E10 doit accélérer sa croissance notamment en remplaçant le SP95 dans davantage de stations-service car le SP95-E10 est l’essence la plus avantageuse pour la quasi-totalité des automobilistes. Ces derniers doivent être aussi mieux informés sur la compatibilité de leurs véhicules avec le SP95-E10, par les stations-service, les professionnels de l’automobile et des deux-roues motorisés et grâce à la pose d’un marquage E10 sur la trappe à carburant des véhicules.

 

La France leader en Europe dans l’utilisation du SP95-E10

La France a été le premier pays européen à lancer le SP95-E10 en 2009. Depuis, l’Allemagne, la Finlande et la Belgique l’ont également lancé sur leur territoire mais la France reste leader sur les volumes vendus. Plusieurs autres pays européens, dont les Pays-Bas préparent le lancement du SP95-E10.

 

Le SP95-E10, plus écologique donc plus économique

Le SP95-E10 contient jusqu’à 10% d’éthanol d’origine végétale. Son avantage pour l’environnement a conduit les pouvoirs publics à le soutenir par une fiscalité adaptée.  Ainsi, il est vendu environ 4 à 5 centimes* moins cher dans une même station que le SP95 et encore davantage par rapport au SP98. Thierry Forien, Directeur adjoint de Siplec rappelle : « Le réseau de stations-service E. Leclerc propose le SP95-E10 dans 80% de ses points de ventes. Nous avons été pionniers dans le développement de l’incorporation d’éthanol dans les essences. Le SP95-E10 est l’essence la moins chère et nous nous félicitons de pouvoir proposer ce carburant environ 5 centimes/litre moins cher que le SP95 traditionnel».

 

Le SP95-E10 est compatible avec 97% du parc essence en circulation (liste consultable sur E10.fr). Pour Pierre Chasseray, Délégué Général de 40 Millions d’Automobilistes, «le SP95-E10 constitue aujourd’hui le meilleur rapport qualité/prix pour les 97% d’automobilistes équipés d’un véhicule essence compatible. Plus propre d’un point de vue écologique, il permet surtout de réaliser plusieurs euros d’économies sur chaque plein, en maintenant les performances du véhicule».

 

Virginie de Chassey, directrice des Affaires publiques du groupe PSA rappelle que « tous les véhicules essence Peugeot, Citroën et DS immatriculés depuis l’année 2000 sont compatibles avec le SP95-E10». 

 

Le SP95-E10 est désormais disponible dans plus de 5600 stations, soit plus d’une sur deux. Alex Truchetto, Directeur de SCA Pétrole et dérivés explique que « le SP95-E10 continue à être déployé dans le réseau de stations-service Intermarché où il remplace peu à peu le SP95».

 

Ce développement s’accompagne de la diffusion de la meilleure information auprès des automobilistes, ce à quoi se sont engagés les 30 signataires de la Charte E10 (les professionnels du secteur de l’automobile et des carburants, les représentants des automobilistes et des filières de production de bioéthanol et  les pouvoirs publics). Francis Pousse, Président de la branche stations-service du CNPA rappelle qu’ « en signant la charte E10, le CNPA s’est engagé à informer les automobilistes sur la compatibilité des véhicules avec le SP95-E10, par l’intermédiaire de ses adhérents (concessionnaires automobiles, garagistes, stations-service traditionnelles, centres de contrôle technique…)».

 

L’éthanol consommé en France provient essentiellement de betteraves et de céréales françaises qui fournissent à la fois de l’alimentation et de l’énergie, dans le respect de critères européens de durabilité. Le bioéthanol du SP95-E10 permet de réduire de plus de 50% les émissions de CO2 par rapport à l’essence. Pour Eric Lainé, Président de la CGB, « Le bioéthanol est un atout pour l’agriculture française durable et diversifiée et permet de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre du secteur des transports».  

 

Le SP95-E10 s’installe donc durablement comme l’essence de référence pour les Français.

 Le succès du SP95-E10 vient récompenser le dynamisme de cette filière qui se retrouve également dans le développement rapide du Superéthanol-E85. Ce carburant encore plus économique et encore plus écologique avec ses 65% à 85% de bioéthanol, alimente les voitures essence flex-fuel, d’origine ou équipées de boîtiers de conversion dont la procédure d’homologation est attendue pour la fin 2017 dans un arrêté du Ministère de la Transition Ecologique et Solidaire.

 

 

La filière française du bioéthanol est leader en Europe et s’intègre dans la bioéconomie, pourvoyeuse d’emplois d’avenir dans l’agriculture, l’industrie, la recherche et les services. Bruno Hot, Président du SNPAA déclare : « Nous comptons sur le gouvernement pour continuer à mettre en avant les bénéfices du bioéthanol, y compris dans les débats européens en cours sur le futur mix énergétique après 2020».

.